Finalists for the Calderdale Community Spirit Awards 2023 Announced

The Community Foundation for Calderdale and its headline sponsors BCA Leisure have announced the finalists for the Community Spirit Awards which will take place on Thursday 23rd November 2023 at The Venue Barkisland to celebrate all the amazing work volunteers, charities and community groups do to make Calderdale a better place to live.

The Community Foundation for Calderdale is a charity, which raises money to fund and support community activity across Calderdale and we have the privilege of reading through the hundreds of nominations that are made and organising the event celebrating the selfless work that is happening. This year, we received a record number of nominations reflecting what a phenomenal amount of outstanding work is happening in the not-for-profit sector in our community.

Hawley Group are sponsoring the filming of the finalists. This is the first year that short clips of finalists will be shown in the Awards ceremony showcasing the incredible work they do and why they deserve to be finalists.

Judges Steve Duncan from CFFC, Simon Walton from Riley & Co, Sian Rogers from Calderdale Council, Emma Worsley from VAC and VSI Alliance, Co-Founder of CFFC and 2021 Lifetime Achievement winner Chris Harris, and 2022 Lifetime Achievement winner Howard Priestley had the difficult job of judging but are pleased to announce the finalists.

Young Community Champion

  • Abigayle Robson
  • Cameron Lynch
  • Ella Jancovich
  • Francesca Houseman
  • Harry Wardman
  • Keira Keegan
  • Madison Lord
  • Mal Goss
  • Malakai Alderson
  • Oscar Lister French
  • Ruby Geddes
  • Ryburn Valley High School LGBT Committee

Best New Charity             

  • Foundry Street Community Centre
  • Outside the Box CIO

Arts & Culture

  • The Arts Charity at Dean Clough (ACDC)
  • Happy Valley Pride
  • Nurturing Creativity
  • Tod Hippodrome Theatre

Volunteer of the Year

  • Ameen Yousaf 
  • Carol Gray
  • Irene Crowther
  • Rachel Atherton
  • Ray McLaughlin

Best Marketing Campaign            

  • Forget Me Not – Every Minute Matters
  • Halifax Opportunities Trust 
  • Healthy Minds #UnwindYourMind
  • Rokt – ‘Climbing for all Families’

Great & Green

  • Climate Challenge – Todmorden College
  • North Halifax Partnership
  • St. Augustine’s Centre

Breakthrough of the Year

  • Colt
  • EdShift
  • Rokt Menopause
  • The Charity Shop Gift Card

Best Response to The Cost-of-Living Crisis

  • EdShift
  • Focus 4 Hope
  • Food For families
  • Halifax Fridge
  • Noah’s Ark

Charity of the Year

  • 51st Street Pellon Scouts
  • Archway
  • Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Charity
  • Happy Valley Pride
  • North Halifax Partnership
  • Overgate

The Outstanding Individual Achievement and Lifetime Achievement winners will be announced during the Awards Ceremony.

Tickets are available to book here

Similar Posts